Holiday Wine Bottle Craft

Standard

So, I joined the website Pinterest a week or so ago. I’ve been pinning like a madwoman ever since. For those of you who may not know what Pinterest is, it’s a ” vision board-styled social photo sharing website where users can create and manage theme-based image collections,” (thank you, wikipedia). It’s a great site to get ideas for crafts, gifts, recipes, outfits, workouts, etc!

So last week while I was scanning the DIY & Craft section, I came across these fun Christmas decorations:

I gave it a shot and made some of my own this weekend. Here are mine!


The only thing I did differently from the original directions is that I took the labels off the wine bottles first… I found it was easiest to do so by first peeling off as much as I could, and then running the remains under hot water and peeling again. For the really sticky/tough stuff, I used Goo Gone (would be easiest to apply and then scrape off with a kitchen sponge with a soft and scruffy side). It’s important that the surface is smooth so that the primer sits on the bottle well.

I spent (aprrox):
$0 for wine bottles
$10 for spray on adhesive
$10 for white primer (they do not sell primer for glass specifically, so I used one that was good for “most surfaces.”) I did two coats on each bottle.
$3 for Epson Salt
$8 for the sparkly things to put inside of the bottles.

Apart from the sparkly things in the bottles, I have plenty of extra materials to make more for gifts, and for myself! You can change up the color scheme easily to make the decorations multi-seasonal.

I gave mine to my parents as a little anniversary gift. By the way, have I mentioned that my parents are AWESOME? Cuz’ they are. Love you Mom and Dad!

About danapodgurski

Geekette • Idea Generator • Paint Splatterer • JMU • Hockey Fanatic • Always Caffeinated • Food Enthusiast • Incessantly Goofy • Marketing Devotee • Candy Junkie • Compulsive Adventurer • 2 Time Cancer Survivor

4 responses »

Leave a comment