Making moves.

Standard

I have a few big updates.

I resigned from The Company. There’s not much of a point in going into the reasoning behind this decision. But, the positives I’m taking out of the experience: learned what it’s like to move for a job, gained very good professional experience that has made and will continue to make me more marketable for future opportunities, and met a handful of pretty awesome folks who I’ll certainly keep in touch with. 

I’m moving out of Charlottesville. I moved there for the job at The Company. Charlottesville is a picturesque university town, with a good live music scene, and breathtaking wineries. But it’s really small. And because it’s a university town, and having a lot of historical elements that draws tourists – it’s pricy to live there.  It’s an ideal place to live if you’re somehow affiliated to UVA, or if you have a family. But as a young professional, it was challenging to meet other people like me. The positives I’m taking out of living in Charlottesville: I lived in the coolest part of town (downtown mall) and could walk to most places, learning that I prefer having a roommate but that I am capable of living on my own, Bang for martinis, listening/watching shows at the pavilion from my rooftop deck, and of course – the dumplings

So… 

I love Richmond, but I felt the need to branch out. Plus, when will I ever get the opportunity to move wherever I want (within reason) again in my life? I’ve been applying to tons of jobs, all in large cities on the east coast (mostly up north). But I got the most bites (by a LOT) in South Florida – so that’s where I’m headed! May 1st I move out of my apartment in Charlottesville, and May 4th I move into my apartment in Fort Lauderdale! I’m unbelievably excited. What I’m looking forward to: the weather (um, duh), the perfectly made drinks, the beach lifestyle and activities, the fact that very few people are “from” Fort Lauderdale – it’s a city with a ton of people like me who are moving there because they love it.  The fact that I’m .4 miles from Las Olas, and 3 miles from the beach ain’t too shabby, either! Honestly my biggest concern is a toss-up between being a plane ride (vs car) from my family, and the fact that alligators actually roam free down there.

But if you’re reading this, and have friends in Ft. Lauderdale that you think I should meet – let me know. Or if you have any recommendations, I’d love to hear them.

About danapodgurski

Geekette • Idea Generator • Paint Splatterer • JMU • Hockey Fanatic • Always Caffeinated • Food Enthusiast • Incessantly Goofy • Marketing Devotee • Candy Junkie • Compulsive Adventurer • 2 Time Cancer Survivor

2 responses »

Leave a comment